Interesting Facts About Life Cycle Of A Grasshopper

life cycle of a grasshopper

Life cycle of a grasshopper is very simple and unlike the life cycle of other insects which contains a number of stages, the life cycle of a grasshopper consists of only three stages.

And due to this reason, the life cycle of a grasshopper is also known as Incomplete Metamorphosis.

The grasshopper goes through Incomplete metamorphosis in which every stage looks very similar and only adds a few changes to the young grasshopper every time it sheds its skin.

Complete metamorphosis on the other hand consists of four stages, the Egg, the Larva, the Pupa, and the Adult. Insects that go through Complete metamorphosis include Butterfly, Frog, etc.

Body parts of an adult Grasshopper

Grasshopper comes from the suborder Caelifera and the order Orthoptera, and there are nearly 10,000 to 20,000 species of a grasshopper on the earth.

An adult Grasshopper has only Three main body parts i.e. the head, the thorax, and the abdomen.

  • Head – contains eyes, mouthparts, and antennae.
  • Thorax – contains two pairs of wings on each side and six legs.
  • Abdomen – abdomen contains the digestive system and the reproductive structures.

An additional part called pinchers also exists in grasshoppers, it is used to tear off food such as grasses, cereal crops, and leaves.

3 stages of the Life cycle of a Grasshopper 

Stage 1: Egg

This is the very first stage of a grasshopper’s life cycle where the female grasshopper lays eggs under the sans or in a leaf litter during the months of summer. Then the female sprays a sticky substance called POD  on the egg which acts as a protective mechanism and protects it against natural factors like rain, wind, and other factors.

Each POD consists of almost 10-300 eggs inside it, depending upon the species of the layer. Generally, a female grasshopper can lay up to 25 PODS.

During the autumn and winter months, the eggs remain isolated under the sand or leaf litter. And after ten months during spring or summers, the eggs hatch and come out as nymphs.

Stage 2: Nymph 

The nymph that comes out when the egg hatches is the second stage of the life cycle of a grasshopper.

A Nymph looks very similar to an adult Grasshopper in reproductive organs and wings.

During the second stage of the life cycle of a grasshopper, it sheds skin almost five to six times while growing into an adult. This process is commonly known as Moulting.

In order to survive, the Nymphs began to eat succulents and soft plants as soon as they hatch from the egg. This stage of the life of a grasshopper lasts for about 5 to 6 weeks.

Stage 3: Adult

The adult is the third and the last stage of the life cycle of a grasshopper. A grasshopper takes about a month to develop fully grown wings.

Grasshoppers have a lifespan of about 12 months. And at the third stage, the grasshopper is ready to lay eggs. Once the female starts laying eggs, she keeps doing so at the intervals of 3 to 4 days, until she dies.

This means that after reaching its adult stage the grasshopper lives no longer than a month or two.

Interesting facts about the Life cycle of a Grasshopper

Here are some interesting facts about the life cycle of a grasshopper that you might like…

  1. There are about 10,000 to 20,000 species of grasshopper found on the earth.
  2. A fully grown adult grasshopper has the capacity to leap about  20 times as far as their body length.
  3. Grasshoppers are eaten as a delicacy and source of protein in many countries.
  4. Grasshoppers are herbivores as they survive by eating plants and succulents.
  5. Female grasshoppers are usually longer than males. They grow about 2 to 5 inches long.

This was all about the life cycle of a grasshopper. Let us know the life cycle of which insect you would like to read about next.

Read More- Reptile Feeding: A Guide to Feeder Insects for Reptiles