Jesse Stone Movies in Order 

Jesse Stone Movies in Order 

Jesse Stone movies series is a collection of nine movies based on Robert B. Parker’s novels. The series follows Jesse Stone, a New England police chief, as he investigates crimes, battles personal struggles, and relies on his canine companions. The series has been released over a decade, with Tom Selleck portraying Jesse Stone. In this article, we are going to discuss Jesse Stone movies in order:

Jesse Stone Movies in Order of Release Date

Here are Jesse stone movies in order of release date: 

  • Stone Cold – Released on February 20, 2005
  • Jesse Stone: Night Passage – Released on January 15, 2006
  • Jesse Stone: Death in Paradise – Released on April 30, 2006
  • Jesse Stone: Sea Change – Released on May 22, 2007
  • Jesse Stone: Thin Ice – Released on March 1, 2009
  • Jesse Stone: No Remorse – Released on May 9, 2010
  • Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost – Released on May 22, 2011
  • Jesse Stone: Benefit of the Doubt – Released on May 20, 2012
  • Jesse Stone: Lost in Paradise – Released on October 18, 2015

Here is in detail:

Stone Cold12: This 2005 crime drama film is based on the 2003 novel by Robert B. Parker. The film is about Jesse Stone, the police chief from a small New England town, who investigates a series of murders that occur with the same modus operandi. The story is shot in a s mall fictitious town of Paradise, Massachusetts.

Jesse Stone: Night Passage

Jesse Stone: Night Passage 3: This is a prequel to Stone Cold, in which Jesse Stone, a former LA policeman, relocates to Paradise, Massachusetts, after leaving the force due to a drinking problem. 

He becomes Chief in the small coastal town and gets involved in a domestic abuse case, soon becoming involved with the husband’s more serious criminal behaviour connected to the mob.

Jesse Stone: Death in Paradise

Jesse Stone: Death in Paradise45: In this film, Jesse Stone, the police chief of Paradise, Massachusetts, investigates the death of a teenage girl found floating in a lake. The case brings the former LAPD homicide detective in front of the affluent world of a bestselling writer who has been exploiting troubled teens.

Jesse Stone: Sea Change

Jesse Stone: Sea Change6: In this drama, Jesse Stone has settled into life as the police chief of the New England town of Paradise when the body of a teenage girl is found floating in a local lake. 

Stone finds that the once straight-A student had started down a path of self-destruction and was estranged from her parents, who never reported her missing.

Jesse Stone: Thin Ice

Jesse Stone: Thin Ice78: xand Captain Healy and Jesse Stone are shot in Boston during an unauthorized stake-out in this film. Meanwhile, a cryptic letter from Paradise leads the mother of a kidnapped child to Stone. Though her son was later declared dead, and she hopes he will restart the case.

Jesse Stone: No Remorse

Jesse Stone: No Remorse910: This film is about Jesse Stone, the police chief of a New England town, who returns from his forced retirement after his replacement was killed in the town police car. The story is set in the fictitious town of Paradise, Massachusetts.

Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost

Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost1112: After being replaced as the Chief of police in Paradise, Massachusetts, by the town council president’s son-in-law, Jesse Stone is still without a full-time job. However, he persists in seeking avenues to conduct inquiries into two distinct homicides. One case revolves around a friend from whom he had become estranged, while the other sees him acting as a consulting investigator for the Massachusetts State Police Homicide Division, addressing a matter concerning a robbery and murder suspect.

Jesse Stone: Benefit of the Doubt

Jesse Stone: Benefit of the Doubt9: Stone continues to long for the role of Paradise, Massachusetts police chief, a position he forfeited due to the actions of the current town council president,Carter Hanson, desiring the job for his son-in-law William Butler, witnesses tragedy unfold as an explosion claims the lives of Officer DeAngelo and  Chief Butler in their police cruiser. Hanson reinstates Jesse as “temp chief” and uncovers apparent police corruption that involves Butler.

Jesse Stone: Lost in Paradise

Jesse Stone: Lost in Paradise1314: After his time in Paradise, Stone takes on a consulting gig for the Massachusetts State Homicide Division. As he investigates the brutal murder of a young woman, he is confronted with a serial killer’s heinous trial.


The “Jesse Stone” series offers a compelling narrative that combines crime-solving with the protagonist’s personal struggles. Whether you choose to watch the movies in their release order or chronologically, you are in for a captivating experience.


Who plays Jesse Stone? 

Tom Selleck portrays Jesse Stone in the series.

How many ‘Jesse Stone movies are there?

The Jesse Stone series has nine movies.

What is the first ‘Jesse Stone’ movie? 

The first movie released was “Stone Cold” in 2005. However, “Jesse Stone: Night Passage” chronologically is the first movie.

What is the latest ‘Jesse Stone’ movie? 

The latest movie in the series is “Jesse Stone: Lost in Paradise”, released in 2015.